Colorado Fall

October 4, 2011 at 9:15 pm (Autumn, Colorado, Photography, Wildlife) (, , , , , , , , )

Autumn north of Silverton, Colorado

My blogging life has suffered from my travels out of the park on my days off, and a month without a computer since my old one crashed. I’d love to have my email address list back, if anyone cares to send me their emails again.  But I’m determined to at least show you all some of the latest scenes here in Colorado, now that the weather has chilled and the aspens are turning gold.  So here goes…

Cabin near Molas Lake

My favorite part of Colorado is the San Juan Skyway route between Durango and Ouray.  I have visited numerous times since July, first for the flowers, and now for the fall colors.

Silverton, Colorado framed by aspens and spruce

I visited the famous Maroon Bells in Aspen a week earlier – just a little early for full color, but the scene was still splendid.

Maroon Bells, mid-morning

Here’s the dawn version:

Dawn at Maroon Bells, Aspen, Colorado

More at Maroon Bells:

A pika - sounds like a toy horn, cuts hay for winter, and lives in rock dens

Aspens and red-leaved fireweed

First shades of autumn

Frosty morning

Reflections at base of Maroon Bells

Here are more fall images:

Fall patterns

A stripe of color

Waterfall near Silverton

Overwhelming color!

Near Silverton

Near Silverton

Sometimes the best color is with backlighting

More to come!  Stay tuned…

For high resolution photographs, visit the Image Gallery

Home website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

All photographs and text are copyright Cindy McIntyre 2011

3 Comments

  1. ron payne said,

    Great photos! Thanks for giving me a heads up about your blog; I’ve subscribed.

  2. Bob Douat said,

    Beautiful pictures as always Cindy.

  3. Jim Chalfant said,

    Cindy, as always, your sense of composition and your ability to capture images with the perfect light makes your photographs distinctive and always a joy to behold.

    Jim

Leave a Reply

