Red-headed Woodpeckers

February 8, 2012 at 4:38 am (Atlanta, Birds - Georgia, Photography, Wildlife) (, )

Image

I have only gotten glimpses of red-headed woodpeckers in Micanopy, Florida and Manhattan, Kansas. Now I have a chance to feast my eyes on these colorful birds here in Atlanta.  The bare oaks in Grant Park make it easy to find them poking the bark for grubs.

Image

Males and females look alike, unlike other Eastern woodpecker species whose females are a little less colorful.

Image

Because I do not have a true wildlife telephoto lens, I need to crop these severely.  They won’t make 8×10 prints, but they aren’t too bad on the internet.

Photographed with Nikon D-80, 55-200mm zoom lens.

Visit my Website

View my Gallery

2 Comments

  1. Bob Zeller said,

    Pretty good photos I would say, even though they are severely cropped. 🙂

    • Cindy McIntyre said,

      Bob, I appreciate the photo info you post – someday I’ll have a better lens… hope you see another red-headed woody in San Angelo.

Leave a Reply

