A 12×12 Room

July 10, 2012 at 9:01 am (Atlanta, Uncategorized) (, )

My Atlanta apartment deck

“ So this is what my life has been reduced to – a 12 by 12 room.”  – paraphrased

I’ve been gone awhile from blogging, I know.  It’s not for lack of subjects, as I’ve had plenty to say and show you.  But darn it, life just takes a lot of time and there’s not always enough of it leftover to blog about it.  So here’s the short version, based on the above quote in the movie “Eat, Pray, Love,”  where Julia Roberts looks into her box-filled storage unit before embarking on her overseas journey to self-discovery.  (Funny, but I can’t find that quote among the hundreds others have cited online…) 

I’ll put a few photos in here, just to keep your visual side interested…

My living room

I sold my house in Maine, and had to drive back and sell/give away nearly all of my possessions.  My scaled-down life does not allow me to cart that stuff from state to state, and I didn’t want to pay $1,000 a year to store it.  It all had to go by May 9, the planned closing date.  My good friend Arlene and her husband Dave and son Dan were my heroes – helping with everything, including storing the things I couldn’t part with or needed to sell online.  Many blessings to them!  That’s what you call a TRUE FRIEND!  (I’ve had TRUE FRIENDS help me move twice before and I still love ‘em for that.)

View from my house. Would you believe I fell asleep before the July 4 fireworks started and woke up just as the last firework went off? All I saw was the smoke behind the SunTrust tower to the right. *Sigh*

While back at the house, I realized there were many things missing, which it turned out my first tenant (and perhaps his friends) had stolen.  Many were prized art pieces.  The thief had good taste.  I found documents from one of his health care workers and a trunk full of documents from a former Maine State Prisoner with a loooonnnng rap sheet.

After returning back to Atlanta, I documented the missing items with photos and notified the police, including the above information.  (The small-town good-ole-boy police department is a bunch of Barney Fifes headed by the sheriff from “In the Heat of the Night.”  These are the kind of people who allowed a mentally ill neighbor next door to live in her car in the middle of a Maine winter because her hoarding completely filled the house and the plumbing didn’t work.)  So not surprisingly, I did most of the detective work myself to find that some of the stolen items were in the former tenant’s home (he died 2 months after moving out) and had my friend retrieve them after the police did absolutely nothing about it.  As for the rest of the missing items, I’m not holding my breath.  *Sigh*

Four apartment units in this historic building, including mine

The house closed six weeks after it was supposed to (another *sigh!*) and the emergency money I managed to save from my salary got spent on a root canal and crown.  (*Sigh*)  But I did do some fun stuff after I returned to Atlanta.

I saw “Prairie Home Companion” in Atlanta’s gorgeous Fox Theatre, a 15-year dream of mine.  It was amazing to see how the radio show was done, and I got Sue Scott and Rich Dworsky’s autograph.  Those guys are national treasures.

I also visited the North Georgia mountains and Savannah-Tybee Island.  So I hope to be getting my blog going again real soon, so I can show these places to you.    I’ll close this update with another quote:

“I’m choosing happiness over suffering, I know I am. I’m making space for the unknown future to fill up my life with yet-to-come surprises.”
― Elizabeth GilbertEat, Pray, Love

View from my deck

6 Comments

  1. Ken Wilson & Tom Pendleton said,

    Sooo nice to catch up with you and what has been going on in your life. I think you know that Sasha died 2 years ago, and we have recently brought into our home 2 puggles, P.B. and Greta! If you are ever in the Hudson valley area, or need a place to stay in between maine and Atlanta, we’d love to have you stay with us! xo

  2. Cindy McIntyre said,

    Hey Ken – yes you told me about Sasha – sorry to hear it. Glad you have two new family members. Our four-legged friends leave us all too soon! My best to you both.

  3. Joe Gray said,

    Good to hear from you again Cindy, Our log home finally sold 6/15 after 5 years on the market. I fell – compression fracture L1 – and the sciatice pain in right leg is only quiiet wih dope. Wheel chair bound for who knows how long and me one who wants to walk the woods and fields. But now writitng “Musings Of A Naturalist”, 88 years in the making, but keeps me occupied on the computer, lookingboutmhy window on the river. Your apt. looks great.- my best to you – Joe

    • Cindy McIntyre said,

      Hey Joe and Carolyn – glad the house sold – I know you were worried. Sorry about the injury – back pain is no fun. But if it results in a book, maybe that was a blessing in disguise? Write on!

  4. Rose Ann Moon said,

    So you’re in Atlanta now> One of my sons just moved to Savannah. I’ll give you a holler when I go visit him and maybe we can see each other. Take care!

Leave a Reply

