A Warm February Evening at Okefenokee

February 5, 2014 at 3:27 pm (Birds - Georgia, Nature, Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge, Photography) (, )

Backlit fern

Backlit fern

It was my first trip back to Okefenokee after my job ended.  I was to meet friend Marilyn, who volunteers there, to watch the sunset from the boardwalk and share dinner afterwards.  I also had to send my best Nikon for a sensor cleaning, and I was happy to know my big telephoto would work with my older Nikon D80.  Of course, that overall quality isn’t as good due to much lower resolution, but I was happy to give it a road test.

DSC_7000-copy
It was the first warm day in, let’s see, about six weeks.  By warm I mean shorts weather.  (This is the Deep South, ya’ll). And the light was gorgeous.

DSC_7026-copy-2

It was even humid enough to give life to these summery cumulus clouds.

Belted Kingfisher

Belted Kingfisher

The belted kingfisher kept at its typical long-long-lens distance on a loblolly bay.

DSC_6999-copy-2

I love the textures and contrasts here along Swamp Island Drive.  This wet area has the most diverse plant life that colors the landscape.

Carolina Wren singing

Carolina Wren singing

While typically birdsong starts in spring, the Carolina wren seems to have something to twitter about all year long.

A meadow along the boardwalk in the sun's last rays

A meadow along the boardwalk in the sun’s last rays

Loblolly bay leaf on sphagnum moss

Loblolly bay leaf on sphagnum moss

Before we made it to the Owls Roost tower, I took an important phone call, and promised to get myself in better cell phone range within 50 minutes, so I had to cut our trip short.

DSC_7028-copy-2

I did catch a few sunbeams before I left, but my walk back had a few treasures in store.

Great Egret, Last Light

Great Egret, Last Light

This great egret was stunning and tinted gold, as if a spotlight had picked it out against the curtain of sky.

Great Egret

Great Egret

I was finally able to get a halfway sharp photograph of the elusive hermit thrush, which favors the shadows and tends to be active very early and very late.  Hand-held, my shutter speed at 400mm was 1/20 sec.  Thanks to the vibration reduction of the lens, the result was far better than it would have been in the “olden” days of film.

Hermit Thrush

Hermit Thrush

It’s nice to be back “home.”

Photos and text copyrighted by Cindy McIntyre

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug

Original hand-painted BW photographs for sale:  Etsy

Join my Facebook Page

4 Comments

  1. James Chalfant said,

    Cindy, as always, the photographs are spectacular. I look forward to each new post.
    Jim

    • Cindy McIntyre said,

      Hi Jim – it’s good hearing from you! Since you’re a skier you are probably in heaven with all the snow you are getting, but I sure as heck am glad I’m NOT there. I’m in shorts as we speak. 🙂

  2. Jim Treadway said,

    Very nice Cindy.

  3. mbkircus said,

    Your eye is marvelous and so different from mine. I only recognized two pictures as things I’d also seen. Lovely post.

Leave a Reply

