Cool Camellias

March 15, 2014 at 7:57 am (Uncategorized)

Camellia in the rain

Camellia in the rain

Although camellias came from Asia, they are a staple of the South in this country.  They are among the earliest blooming shrubs in late winter, but I have rarely seen any as perfect as those in my friend’s yard in Swainsboro, Georgia this week.

Camellia-in-rain,-Georgia-(7)-copy
Usually camellia flowers I’ve seen are in various stages of decay.  These trees flaunted the most perfect flowers.

Well-pruned camellia bush

Well-pruned camellia bush

The morning’s drizzle and soft light showed off this well-pruned bush to advantage, with its skirt of fallen petals neatly arrayed underneath.

Fallen petals

Fallen petals

A mosaic of petals. I am now a fan of camellias.

Photos and text copyrighted by Cindy McIntyre

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug

Original hand-painted BW photographs for sale:  Etsy

Join my Facebook Page

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Ron Payne said,

    Even if I had the ability with a lens that you have, all we have here in central Ohio are a few fuzzy buds on the small Star Magnolia outside our breakfast window. My envy at your scenery is trrying to elbow my admiration of your art.

  2. Cindy McIntyre said,

    You are very generous with your admiration, Ron! I hope Spring comes soon to Ohio. I lived in Maine for 18 years. A few years ago we had two snowstorms leaving a foot each of the horrid stuff – in APRIL!

  3. Leonard Surprenant said,

    I really fell in love with camellias while working in Valdosta, GA. Before then I had only seen them in northern glass houses. Thanks for sharing them.

Leave a Reply

