Jekyll Island – Songbirds

May 3, 2014 at 4:39 am (Bird photography, Birds - Georgia, Georgia, Georgia State Parks, Nature, Nature photography, Photography, Wildlife) (, , , )

Cape May Warbler, male, Jekyll Island, Georgia

Cape May Warbler, male, Jekyll Island, Georgia

I think the Cape May Warbler is a lifer for me.  At least it’s the first time I’ve ever photographed it.  This guy was foraging in a bottlebrush bush.

Black-and-White Warbler female

Black-and-White Warbler female

I actually photographed the Common Yellowthroat somewhere else, but I did see one on Jekyll Island.  I still think of them by their old name – Maryland Yellowthroat

Common Yellowthroat male

Common Yellowthroat male

The female Painted Bunting had been seen in the campground in January, but now she was in the Arboretum.  I don’t know if there is a mate.

Female Painted Bunting

Female Painted Bunting

American Redstart female

American Redstart female

Black-Throated Blue Warbler, male

Black-Throated Blue Warbler, male

Carolina Wren, male

Carolina Wren, male

Male boat-tailed grackle feeding on a herd of fiddler crabs

Male boat-tailed grackle feeding on a herd of fiddler crabs

I spent most of my time on the beach, as you may have noticed from my previous Jekyll Island posts.  OK, now I must pack for my move to Colorado!

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug and Fine Art America

Original hand-painted BW photographs for sale:  Etsy

Join my Facebook Page

Contact:  cindy at cindymcintyre.com

 

Leave a Reply

