Sand Wash Basin Foals in June

September 1, 2014 at 11:43 am (Colorado, Photography, Wild Horses of the Southwest) (, , , )

A tender moment

A tender moment

I will be leaving soon for another visit to the Sand Wash Basin near Maybell, Colorado to watch my favorite herd of wild horses.  I kinda got behind in my editing from the last visit in late June, so I’ll share what I’ve got before the next batch hits.

Sand-Wash-Basin-Wild-Horses,-CO-(8)-copy

Even though I went to the Sand Wash Basin’s Facebook page to study the albums, I could not identify all these horses by name.  And the ones I did I hope I got right!

Sand-Wash-Basin-Wild-Horses,-CO-(6)-copy

This herd has a large fan base and several Facebook pages devoted to it, including Sand Wash Advocate Team (SWAT), Sand Wash Basin,  and Sand Wash Basin Wild Ones.

Pinyon (colt)

Pinyon (colt)

We’ve had a lot of rain the past two weeks so some of the roads won’t be passable by my aged minivan, but I’m sure I’ll be able to see a lot of action anyway.

Pinyon

Pinyon

I’ve met two photographers who are active in SWAT who have visited Dinosaur National Monument, and I always tell our visitors they can visit the herd on their way to the Monument’s Gates of Lodore.

Ouray-colt,-Madeline-dam-maybe-copy

Ouray colt

Juniper's family with Pinyon

Juniper’s family with Pinyon

_D600859-copy

_D600832-copy

Sand-Wash-Basin-Wild-Horses,-CO-(21)-copy

They’re not foals, but it is still a sweet interaction.

Sand-Wash-Basin-Wild-Horses,-CO-(16)-copy

Ouray colt and Madeline

Long live the Sand Wash Basin wild horses!

Text and photographs copyrighted by Cindy McIntyre

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug and Fine Art America

Purchase photographs of Sand Wash Basin horses

Original hand-painted BW photographs for sale:  Etsy

Join my Facebook Page

Contact:  cindy at cindymcintyre.com

Leave a Reply

