New Birds!

November 17, 2014 at 7:00 am (Bird photography, Birds - California, Nature, Nature photography, Photography, Wildlife) (, , , , , )

Anna's Hummingbird male

Anna’s Hummingbird male

I saw some old favorites and new birds for my life list since leaving Dinosaur National Monument last month.  One was in Seattle, and the rest are in Apple Valley and Newberry Springs, California.

Anna's Hummingbird male

Anna’s Hummingbird male

As with most hummingbirds, the light has to hit the iridescent feathers just right to bring out the jewel-like colors.  If not, the gorget tends to look black.  We saw a few Anna’s in Seattle, too, much to my surprise.  I thought the only hummers found there were rufous, and they migrated south a long time ago.

Chestnut-backed Chickadee

Chestnut-backed Chickadee

I finally photographed the sole chestnut-backed chickadee that visited my son’s new feeder.  The rest were black-capped chickadees.

California Towhee

California Towhee

The curious California towhee was a newbie.  Seen, of course, in southern California.

California Towhee

California Towhee

California Quail

California Quail

This covey of California Quail moved too quickly in the low light for me to get anything better than this one.

Cactus Wren

Cactus Wren

I know the Cactus Wren from my stint in Big Bend National Park.

Cactus Wren with Nesting Material

Cactus Wren with Nesting Material

I’ve seen these guys/gals collect nesting material even when it wasn’t nesting season.  I think it’s just a habit, or obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Anna's Hummer

Anna’s Hummer

And now, a verdin in the morning’s first light.

Verdin

Verdin

Black phoebe

Black phoebe

Black phoebe

Black phoebe

Text and photographs copyrighted by Cindy McIntyre

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug and Fine Art America

Join my Facebook Page

Contact:  cindy at cindymcintyre.com

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Everette said,

    Great Pictures !

  2. DesertAbba said,

    Wow! Really super pics. If I didn’t know better, I’d think that you’ve taken up where Audubon left off by killing the specimens and posing them to get them in their best natural setting.

Leave a Reply

