Hummingbird Ballet

January 21, 2015 at 10:42 am (Bird photography, Birds - California, Nature, Nature photography, Photography, Wildlife) (, , )

Male Anna's Hummingbird

Male Anna’s Hummingbird

Sometimes the mistakes turn out to be unexpected poetry.  The hummingbird blurs remind me of Ernst Haas’s work in “The Creation” – lovely and purposeful motion blurs of nature.  While I could invoke Pee-wee Herman who capsized his bicycle in “Pee Wee’s Big Adventure,” and say “I meant to do that,” the truth is I didn’t.

Male Costa's Hummingbird blur

Male Costa’s Hummingbird blur

Perhaps I should experiment more with the purposeful blur.  For now, I’ll enjoy these.

_D605522-copy

_D605553-copy-2

I had a male Costa’s Hummingbird visit my feeders for the first time.  His purple gorget was stunning in the sunlight.  Unfortunately I was home sick, and tried some flash photos through the windows.

Male Costa's Hummingbird

Male Costa’s Hummingbird

Ideally the shutter speed would be around 1/2000 or higher, but with the flash I could only get away with 1/200 sec.  Hence the blurs.  Enjoy the dance!

_D605603-copy-2

_D605586-copy-2

_D605602-copy-2

_D605584-copy-2

_D605574-copy-2

_D605569-copy-2

 

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug and Fine Art America

Join my Facebook Page

Contact:  cindy at cindymcintyre.com

2 Comments

  1. DesertAbba said,

    You’ve certainly made lemonade from the blurry lemons! Thanks. Indeed more experiments should be atempted.

  2. Katrina W said,

    Exquisite little birds, and super captures! I’m a big fan of motion blurs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

