A Little Fall Color

November 1, 2016 at 5:00 am (Nature, Nature photography, Oklahoma, Photography) (, )

Country sunset, Wilburton, Oklahoma

Country sunset, Wilburton, Oklahoma

It’s been a very warm autumn here in Oklahoma. So warm that the leaves either haven’t turned yet, or just aren’t gonna. I took a short trip to eastern Oklahoma which reaches toward the Ozarks, joining a photog friend and his daughter Alicia.

_mg_9071-copy

We met up at Robbers Cave State Park just north of Wilburton. It was just before sunset so I didn’t explore too far. The rocks and pine trees did keep me busy though.

_mg_9044-copy

I also decided to experiment with some HDR (High Dynamic Range) Photoshopping, to give a little surreal twist to the images.

_mg_9066-copy

Patterns always intrigue me, and the lichens and pine needles collected in rock crevices were fair game.

_mg_9068-copy

I’ve seen this type of rock formation in many parts of the country: Washington state, Big Bend National Park, Seminole Canyon, Texas among others. I wish I knew the explanation for this pitted, almost honeycombed weathering.

_mg_9089-copy

The bark pattern on this pine was stunning. I wish I knew what species of pine it is.

_mg_9092-copy

I didn’t hike up to the cave. I meant to do so the following day, but we had too much fun elsewhere and I had to drive back home. It was a four-hour trip and I didn’t want to drive in the dark.

_mg_9105-copy

As you can see, there wasn’t much color in the leaves that had fallen.

_mg_9110-copy

We found a couple of trees in the mountains the following day that had better color. Stay tuned for the next blog on Okie Fall Colors.

_mg_9115-copy

This rock shed was captivating enough in the alpenglow of the sun’s last rays, but the Hereford cow made it more special.

_mg_9112-copy

Across the street was a tree I’ll now call Alicia’s Tree because I found out she goes bonkers over trees like that.

_mg_9132-copy-2

I’m rather fond of them myself. So much character in their gnarly limbs, like an old granny.

_mg_9124-copy-2

Often the best sunset color is 10 to 20 minutes after the sun has actually set. Nighty night ya’ll.

 

Photos and text copyrighted by Cindy McIntyre

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug and Fine Art America

Join my Facebook Page

Contact:  cindy at cindymcintyre.com

 

Leave a Reply

