Rattlesnake Roundup

April 19, 2017 at 6:00 am (Oklahoma, Wildlife) (, , )

I’m not a fan of this, really. It’s not what I would call a lighthearted family event. But geeze Louise, it’s a tradition here in Oklahoma. It’s part of the culture. I mean, many of these folks are raised on farms. They hunt and fish. They eat what they kill. But still…

There are some interesting facts that accompany a rattlesnake roundup like this one. And some opinions that may or may not be accurate. To be honest, I found it fascinating. All of it. Even the part that comes next — the shock and awe of seeing a perfectly good snake butchered. I was transfixed. Don’t watch this next video if you get easily freaked out.

Should snake round-ups be allowed? If so, should they be regulated in the same way deer and bird hunting is? Or is this a tradition that needs to change as habitat continues to shrink and the snake populations decrease?

This is what I’d rather see:

http://www.biologicaldiversity.org/campaigns/outlawing_rattlesnake_roundups/

The Orianne Society has had success in changing these roundups as well. Let’s hope that soon these kinds of activities transform into something that teaches an appreciation for the role of rattlesnakes in nature. Something that lets them keep on being snakes.

Hunting any animal should be a fair sport. I’m not against hunting. I just want it to be respectful of the animal and its habitat. Not a free-for-all-let’s-get-as-many-as-we-can kind of deal.

Yet… the Snake Pit held a morbid fascination. I’m glad I saw it. And also, I’m not.

Photos and text copyrighted by Cindy McIntyre

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug and Fine Art America

Join my Facebook Page

Contact:  cindy at cindymcintyre.com

Leave a Reply

