Morro Coast Bird Festival – part 1

February 19, 2019 at 5:00 am (Bird photography, Birds - California, California, California Central Coast, Nature, Nature photography, Wildlife) (, , , )

Peregrine Falcon on boat yardarm

I treated myself to four days of birding at the Morro Coast Bird Festival in January 2019. Although I chose some trips to areas I was already familiar with, I found it extremely beneficial to go with someone who pointed out birds I had never seen before.

One of the best trips was the boat trip on the bay. We saw two peregrine falcons perched on boat yardarms, and the overcast light was perfect for getting detail.

Peregrine falcon in flight
Two peregrine falcons
The return flight

Peregrines nest at Morro Rock, and there are often two nests there.

Morro Rock

A sea otter was eating a small octopus very near the boat, and I got some absolutely amazing photos, helped by the overcast light.

Sea otter eating octopus
Sea otter eating octopus

Ospreys were also hanging around the marina, catching fish and eating them on the boat yardarms.

Osprey

I can’t get over how this angle makes the osprey look like it has googly eyes.

Osprey Googly Eyes

This red-tailed hawk was a little bedraggled from the wet leaves.

Red-tailed hawk

A dozen turkey vultures roosted hear the heron rookery, waiting for the thermals to send them aloft.

Turkey vultures at roost
Turkey Vulture

I’ll be posting more from the Morro Coast Bird Festival in the next week. Stay tuned!

Photos and text copyrighted by Cindy McIntyre

Feel free to reblog or share

Website:  CindyMcIntyre.com

Online gallery:  Smugmug and Fine Art America

Join my Facebook Page

Contact:  cindy at cindymcintyre.com

2 Comments

  1. Jet Eliot said,

    Wow, we started out here with such incredible peregrine photos. Then when I got to the otter I gasped. Holy smokes! An octopus! Thank you for this Morro Bay series, Cindy. I started at the other end, part 5 or so, and got addicted. Thank you so much.

    • Cindy McIntyre said,

      You know, there can be a surprise on any trip, and I’m glad I was there when these birds and otters gave such a great performance!

Leave a comment